8 month update – late again!

I am seriously no good at getting these updates in on time, I missed seven entirely and Pippin has been eight months for three weeks now. It is because these months are going far too quickly, I can’t get my head around the fact that she’s fast approaching one whole year old. Pretty soon she will have been in the world longer than she was growing in my tummy (37+6 weeks!).

We’re very, very proud of her.

As we’re biased and her parents we’re pretty sure she’s talking already. She regularly says Da-Da, and she says “Ca” whenever she sees the cat. Clearly first words over here. And of course the moment she stole a piece of dairy free Easter egg was a proud one, she has inherited one thing from me at least.

WP_20170502_13_34_21_Pro

She can properly crawl, she surprised us with it 7 months and a week. Now its all about pulling herself up on furniture, and she is just starting to move along. This is more than a bit scary, I can hardly cope with the fact that she can get around on all fours, I don’t know what I will do when she’s walking.

Two teeth are through, and she manages a surprising amount of food considering she has basically nothing to chew with. Bagels are a particular favourite, especially spread with Vegan Cream ‘Cheese’, she also likes curry and stir fry. Her tastes seem to change from day to day: I can get her to eat a tangerine one day, the next she spits it out like poison. I’ve managed to re-introduce Soya to my diet without causing her problems, so the aim at some point between now and her first birthday will be for me to have some hard cheese.

WP_20170331_15_25_58_Pro

She saw the consultant and, because she was gaining weight, they were ok for us to continue managing her intolerances as we were doing. So that’s what we have done.

Just this last week she has started sitting still to be read to. Her favourite book is “Dinosaur Roar”, and it makes me all emotional when she laughs along.

She hates being dressed and tooth brushing and anything really that someone has to do for her. She is fiercely independent, and incredibly wilful.

Sleeping is gradually improving. She will go in her cot for a couple of hours, but I am still breastfeeding throughout the night. However she is starting to self-soothe more. I’m just following her lead really.

In other words we’re still just winging it. But she seems to be doing just fine, so it must be working.

Leave a Reply

