#mumguilt

Honestly I feel like I complain all of the time at the moment. I can feel just a little bit of dread about tomorrow.

My darling husband is on super shitty shifts this week, working from 10am until 9pm, which means I basically get to do all of the difficult bits of the day by myself. It is bloody difficult to juggle a three month old and housework. But then, if you’re reading this you are probably in full agreement and I take my hats of to all the mama’s out there doing this – seriously you are amazing.

I love her more than anything, but it is so difficult to entertain her all day, and don’t even get me started on naps.

I have worked out this little routine though – she will happily watch Strictly Come Dancing for twenty minutes. So, on it goes and I rush round doing washing and putting tea in the slow cooker before she gets fed up. Then I feel sick to the stomach guilty that I am sticking my twelve week old in front of the television. I will win no parenting awards.

I found myself at 2pm sitting and staring at my baby, sat in her bouncer. I was just staring, mouth hanging open, because I had run out of nursery rhymes, funny faces and random crap to say. I had tried rocking her to sleep, nothing.

Then I felt guilty I wasn’t interacting with her and my default is to put her to the breast. Clearly she isn’t being stimulated enough and will have no social skills and an undeveloped brain.

#mumguilt

 

3 thoughts on “#mumguilt

  1. Hi, just found your blog! The early days are hard! It seems like there is so much to do sometimes and it’s hard to get a minute to yourself. I think we all do our best, and some days that ‘best’ is better than others, it’s all so hard when you’re tired. Have you thought about trying a sling/carrier so you can get jobs done while holding her? Don’t beat yourself up too much x

    Like

Leave a Reply

