A deviation from the normal routine

I’ve disappeared again recently, this pregnancy lark has been harder than I imagined it could be and, frankly, I imaged it being pretty hard!

So, last weekend we took another little trip to the hospital, as I said, which turned out fine, and Little Pippin appeared to be happy and healthy, and the unexpected bleed was just that, an unexpected bleed. Pip was measuring a little big, but not anymore than throughout the rest of the pregnancy and the only issue was that my consultant couldn’t tell if Pip was breech or not, because baby’s legs appeared to be curled up underneath. With me only being 33 weeks they weren’t too fussed and off we went home. Sunday was spent lazing around and sleeping, because hospitals are tiring.

Wednesday I had my next growth scan – we ended up seeing a consultant because they were concerned at the rate Pippin had grown in the space of two weeks, especially since my midwife had recorded Pip as following the curve perfectly on the previous Friday! My blood sugar had been normal, and they couldn’t explain why there was such a massive jump.

The reason they were so concerned about the massive jump was because, if correct, it means that little Pip isn’t so little, and we’re looking at a birth weight of 11lbs +. They don’t think that giant Pip will manage to come down the birth canal in the way little Pip might have. I can’t say I disagree with them there. So, after my growth scan next week I’ll know whether I’m to be induced early, at somewhere between 37 and 38 weeks, or to have an elective cesarean section at 39 weeks.

So things over at Pip and Blossom HQ have become a little hectic, its all hands on deck to make sure that we’re ready for Pippin’s arrival, which may be three weeks sooner than we were expecting. I’m washing cloth nappies and cleaning like there’s no tomorrow, and hubs has been busy finishing all the little jobs that needed doing, plus we’ve drafted in both sets of parents to help clean/paint/take things to the tip.

I feel we should have expected this, as a couple we can’t just do things in the standard way. I’m a bit scared to be honest, this isn’t the birth I planned for, and I just want Pippin to be ok and not to have problems because of the diabetes. I’ll know more in a weeks time.

Did anyone else have to prepare for the birth of a giant baby? Any tips for a slightly scare first timer?

Leave a Reply

