Best Pregnancy Products So Far

Right now I’m entering the ‘too uncomfortable, just please let the next few weeks pass quickly’ stage of pregnancy. I can’t sleep, I can’t sit down and I certainly can’t walk more than fifteen paces without either stopping to catch my breath or being clawed in the cervix.

DSC_0200

So these are the products that are making life just a bit more bearable for a 33 week, diabetic, gluten free pregnancy lady with hip pain and sore feet. You’re welcome.

  1. Bio Oil: I started using this at about week 25 or so. No, it’s not stopped the strech marks, but it does help with the terrible itch and I think its making them less red? Wishful thinking?
  2. Pregnancy Pillow: This thing has been a sleep-saver from the first trimester. Its long enough that it can go under your hip, between your knees, between your ankles. I’ve even used it behind my back to stop me rolling over and getting stuck. Pregnancy is very elegant. Bonus, it can also be used for breast feeding.
  3. Lip Balm: I have hayfever, and being pregnant there’s not much I can do about it. Lip Balm means that my lips don’t get too dry as I snore and snuffle my way through the night. (See previous comment about being elegant)
  4. Tena Lights: Yeah, that’s self explanatory. Moving swiftly on (which I hope this will do after baby arrives).
  5. Water Bottle/Cup/Glass: You need to stay hydrated during pregnancy, and it will save you a lot of money going to the vending machine. Do not let yourself get dehydrated, it will make any and all symptoms worse. You have been warned.
  6. Maternity Jeans: If you are pregnant and haven’t already got yourself a pair then what are you thinking? If you aren’t pregnant just get yourself a pair, you will never want to go back. The elasticated waist of stretchy comfiness. Don’t go squeezing yourself into those normal jeans, just buy some maternity ones and get on with your day.
  7. E45: My skin has been awful throughout the pregnancy. If your skin is dry just buy a big tub of this and slather it on, good for keeping the skin on your tummy stretchy too, probably.
  8. Sun Cream: You burn more easily in pregnancy, so you need to make sure you’re working sun cream and probably a hat. I burnt after standing talking to my neighbour for half an hour, on a cloudy day.
  9. Bubble Bath: It doesn’t really matter what it is, you will just want a bubble bath. It really helps with the pain. We’re doing this thing where I’m using baby products to get the cats used to the smell, then they don’t think baby is weird and new. It isn’t working.
  10. Birthing Ball: For obvious reasons, but also if you’re having any sort of hip and pelvic pain most of the exercises they give you will require a ball. So its worth it.

And the bonus. For the love of God get yourself a comfy chair, get someone to set it in front of the tv and rest. You’re growing a tiny human, you deserve it.

Leave a Reply

