31 weeks pregnancy update

I disappeared, again! There’s been so much going on that before I know where I am I am at 31 weeks pregnant with only another 7-8 to go. We aren’t ready for that kind of reality yet!

What has happened?

Well, I finished work on the 1st July, so am now officially unemployed with a baby on the way. But the rest is nice and I feel like I can get the house sorted for the new arrival. Bad and good points I guess.

Pippin’s room has plaster, and nearly paint. So that only leaves flooring, radiator and furniture before we can actually start to put all baby’s stuff in there. Which is amazing because it means I can get the rest of my house back, and have an office space again, and generally not live in a building site!

I am diabetic. Not the biggest surprise ever, since I was considered high risk anyway with a family history and being overweight and all. But it is a pain, and means we’re having to reconsider birth options, for example baby might have to make its arrival at around 39 weeks rather than allowing for it to choose its own time. At the moment my bloods are keeping stable via diet management, and there’s no reason for me to be on medication, plus Pippin is measuring right along the line, so no worries there either. For the moment I’m having growth scans every two weeks, just to keep an eye on things. Although, being a gluten free, vegetarian diabetic is no mean feat and this little kit has become my constant companion.

I can’t complain about the care I’m getting through, the midwives are doing their absolute best to get me the birth I want, and I do believe that if they can manage it I won’t have the medicalised birth I am more than a little scared of. Can’t say fairer than that really.

My iron levels are still low, even though I’ve been taking one tablet a day from around 20 weeks and two from 28 weeks, so they are a little bit concerned about that. But I’ll be having blood tests to monitor my levels, and hopefully they will pick up. Now, where’s that bag of spinach?

Also, we had the labour and birth class yesterday.

Baby is:

Getting quite big now, by the feeling of things anyway! According to the growth scan Pip is in the 90th percentile. The wriggling is getting far more pronounced now, my whole tummy ends up being thrown around by it, and one of the midwives got kicked in the head four times when trying to listen to the heartbeat! (Sorry, about that!). I like to think that means Pippin will be far less lazy than me and it’s daddy. Baby is also head down, but at this stage that’s probably temporary, but I’ll take the switch. Baby had been breech for weeks, so hopefully it doesn’t turn round again!

Mummy is:

Flipping tired by now. I’m getting sleep in, maybe, two hour chunks if that. What with discomfort, needing to pee and getting too hot, sleeping has gone out the window. For me and the poor husband. Hips are getting more painful, especially at night or if I’ve been sitting or walking too long. So, constantly. Plus baby’s kicks are getting strong enough to hurt now.

I’m having loads of tightening across my bump. Assuming this is Braxton Hicks or something? Generally I’m just feeling quite big and uncomfortable. I’m 31 weeks pregnant, what do I expect really? I have to be honest, this stage is uncomfortable, and I feel it will probably get worse, but it still beats the vomiting nightmare that was the first trimester, hands down.

Leave a Reply

